MAPS – A Guide to Biblical Reliability

Is the Bible reliable? How do we know that what we are reading is in fact God’s word and His instruction to us? Is what is written in the Bible relevant to our lives today?

These are some fair questions, and ones that many people have- not only skeptics or those who are “searching”, but sadly, those who align themselves with Christianity and confess to believe in Jesus Christ. Some claim to believe in and follow Christ, yet deny the reliability/accuracy/inerrancy of the scriptures. What do we have to stand on as believers if not the Word of God?

This is a post that has been on my heart to share for a while (and now I have a place to!) because these are questions that deserve our attention, wherever we are on our faith journey.  For the skeptic/searcher to find out what the Bible has to say because if it is reliably the Word of God, it has a lot to say about our lives on earth and in eternity.  And for the Christian, to be prepared to “make a defense to anyone who asks you for a reason for the hope that is within you”. (1 Peter 3:15)

I must say that I did not come up with these points, but am drawing from an article entitled “MAPS to Guide You Through Biblical Reliability” by Hank Hanegraaff. I will add some of my own thoughts but the meat is from his article. I think it’s a very easy and accurate way to understand and defend the Bible as God’s Word, so I wanted to share it with you.

My thoughts now are that I will divide this up into 4 posts – one for each letter of the acronym. I do hope that you will come back and join me for the first of these posts tomorrow! I would LOVE to hear any other questions that you may have relevant to this topic as well!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “MAPS – A Guide to Biblical Reliability

Leave a Reply

