Keepin’ it real

Today has been a crummy day.  You know- starts wrong and then things just keep right on going down the tubes…..I woke up later than I wanted to (so my “i’m going to enjoy my morning cup of coffee and quiet time alone” time wasn’t so alone); then I didn’t feel like working out (probably a bad choice) so I decided to take the kids to Target to get some chalk and dry erase markers then we would go to Chik-Fil-A to play and let them get some energy out on this rainy, dreary day.

Notice I only needed 2 things at Target….this was probably my fastest and cheapest trip EVER. But not absent of the “I wants” and a semi-tantrum from my middle child. Great.

Which then led to mama being very frustrated and deciding that “I am not taking anyone to CFA when they have acted like that”. Period. End of discussion.

I know you (if you have kids) know how that went over with the oldest child. More whining to ensue from him. Then very loud whining/crying/fussing/boo-hooing  from said middle child who caused the whole disturbance in the first place.

Insert ray of sunshine- 19-month old who doesn’t know what’s going on and just smiles at me  from his carseat. 🙂 I know- he too will cause this raucous one day…..but for now, let me have my ray of sunshine.

Then, the straw that broke the camel’s back- I wanted a fountain drink- diet coke- my drug of choice. But again, decided against going through drive-thru b/c I don’t think that the person on the other side of the speaker where you place your order could have heard me over all the fussing and crying present in my van. And, I am supposed to be drinking only water for 40 days….so now I feel like a failure at that b/c I have maybe a few times cheated.

Also insert a (clean) laundry pile that looks like this:

AND, I have to work tonight, won’t be home till 1:00 am, so nothing I can do about it tonight.

There were numerous other things swirling around  in my mind and in my day, but I will not bore you with those details! (you are welcome) SO I just got to thinking…..this is just life. What do we do when the crummy days come? Or the hard days? Or the tragic days? Or the ones that we just feel defeated, or just plain confused and don’t know what to do about a certain situation? Or….fill in the blank of anything unpleasant.

First, let me say here that I know my situation/day is good in comparison to many others who are facing extreme hardship, and I do feel embarrassed when I allow myself to turn inward and complain about my life.  But it happens, right? If we aren’t careful we have a tendency to look at our situation and just invite ourselves and those we love to the pity party.

I just managed to (as I was doing some laundry 🙂 ) say to the Lord, “Help me! How can I change my attitude and just move on? I’m in a “funk” and I don’t like it!” I am pretty sure that the fruit of the Spirit (love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, gentleness, goodness, faithfulness, self-control- Galatians 5) was NOT flowing from my heart and life today.

And here is the answer, I believe: “Praise Me”.  I think that just turning to the Lord and focusing on who He is- His awesome deeds- His marvelous works- His faithful love- His saving grace- His abundant mercy- His real Presence- His true Word- brings us to a point where we can look outside of ourselves and see how Great is the Great I AM.

Praise the Lord! For it is good to sing praises to our God; for it is pleasant, and a song of praise is fitting”.

Psalm 147:1


You will keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on You, because he trusts in You. Trust in the Lord forever, for the Lord God is an everlasting rock.”

Isaiah 26:3-4

Now gotta go get in my car and drive to work….rockin’ some praise music. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Keepin’ it real

  1. Preach it, girl!! Right to this one who was having her own pity party today! I would blame it on the rain (wasn’t that a bad 80s song?!) but I know it’s my own sinful heart!! Thanks for the much needed pep talk!! hugs, Mariel

  2. Sweet Lauren, I love you! Your honesty and realness makes me want to be more like you when I grow up….not sure when that will be exactly but I hope I can be an awesome mommy like you when that day comes!! 🙂 Praying that you will have more sunshine tomorrow! Keep your eyes focused up on what really matters. Love you girl!

Leave a Reply

