P.S.

Today wraps up the series on biblical reliability!  So far, we’ve looked at:

M-manuscript evidence

A- archaeological  evidence

These last two go very well together so I have decided to lump them both here. I feel the need to say again, these points aren’t mine, but come from the article by Hank Hanegraaf, “MAPS to Guide You Through Biblical Reliability”.  Here is the article in it’s entirety: http://www.equip.org/articles/bible-reliability

So, jumping right in, the P stands for prophecy- predictive ability. There are many events that the Bible predicts, but because Christ is the focus of the whole counsel of scripture- old and new testament- it only makes sense that the prophecies regarding him outnumber the rest, so that’s what I want to hone in on.

Genesis 17:19- Here, God promises that the messiah will come from Abraham’s line- via Isaac, not Ishmael.

Micah 5:2- Prophecy that the messiah would be born in Bethlehem

Isaiah 53:12- Prophecy that the messiah would be crucified with criminals

*These are just a few of the ones that obviously Jesus could not set out and intend or conspire to fill.*

Let’s look real quick at Psalm 22 and Matthew 27.

Ps. 22:18- “They divide my garments among them, and for my clothing they cast lots”
Matt. 27:35- “And when they had crucified him, they divided his garments among them by casting lots”

Ps. 22:7- “All who see me mock me; they make mouths at me; they wag their heads”
Matt. 27:39- “And those who passed by derided him, wagging their heads

Ps. 22:8- “He trusts in the Lord; let him deliver him; let him rescue him, for he delights in him”
Matt. 27:43- “He trusts in God; let God deliver him now, if he desires him, For he said ‘I am the Son of God'”

Ps. 22:1- “My God, My God, why have you forsaken me? Why are you so far from saving me, from the words of my groaning?”
Matt. 27:46- “And about the ninth hour Jesus cried out with a loud voice, ‘Eli, Eli, lema sabachthani?’ that is, ‘My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”

Now, for the S- statistics. The Bible was written over the span of 1500 years with over 40 authors in 3 different languages, and speaks to hundreds of subjects. Yet, there is one over-arching theme- Jesus Christ and God’s redemption of mankind. The likelihood that Jesus would fulfill all prophecies concerning him BY CHANCE alone? Conservative estimates: 1 in 10 to the 17th power.

I also want to say again, that I am no Bible scholar or apologist- I don’t pretend to be! There are plenty of great ones out there! I just want to show that the Bible is worth looking into- maybe giving a second thought to the possibility- that it’s divine in origin rather than human, and that it’s accurate.

Leave a Reply

