Why does it matter?

Finishing up the several posts about Biblical reliability, I’ve been thinking.  We have to understand why it matters if we actually believe the Bible or not. We are misguided if we think, “Well I believe that Jesus died on the cross for my sins, and that when I die I’ll go to heaven….but the part in there about fill in the blank here…..well- I don’t know about that.”

Truth is, there are certain Biblical truths/doctrines that aren’t comfy cozy and don’t give you warm fuzzies inside. But I will submit to you that if we don’t believe it ALL, we can’t claim to really believe ANY of it. If it’s not all true, then how do I know the part about eternal security is true? How do I know anything about who God is and what He wants from me? We can’t pick and choose from Scripture what we would like to believe.  That leaves us confused and uncertain. Two things that I don’t believe He wants us to be.

The thing is, God wants us to know Him. He wants us to be secure in His love and His plans. And that is why He’s given us His Word. We are not going to understand everything about this life and even about Scripture, but we can apply ourselves to know Him and His Word, and continue to grow in that until the day we die.

“Thus says the LORD: ‘Let not the wise man boast in his wisdom,

    let not the mighty man boast in his strength,

let not the rich man boast in his riches,

but let him who boasts boast in this,

that he understands and knows me,

that I am the LORD who practices steadfast love, justice, and righteousness in the earth.

For in these things I delight, declares the LORD.”

Jeremiah 9:23-24

See- all of those other things can be taken away from us- wisdom, strength, riches (things that our culture and world values & treasures above all else)…..but knowing Christ cannot.  So I would ask you- if we don’t know Christ, what level of security or confidence can we have in this life? And how do we know him if not through his word?

“With my whole heart I seek You;

let me not wander from from your commandments!

I have stored up Your word in my heart, that I might not sin against You.

I will meditate on Your precepts and fix my eyes on Your ways.

I will delight in Your statutes;

I will not forget your Word.”

Psalm 119:10-11,15-16

Leave a Reply

